The second instalment of the Plastic Free Awards took place in June with an unforgettable virtual celebration. We were delighted to be nominated again for the awards which were hosted by Surfers Against Sewage and co-founder Iceland Foods Charitable Foundation to celebrate the incredible movement of people and communities fighting for a future without plastic pollution.

The awards ceremony brought together environmental activists and community leaders from around the world. People from all walks of life, including young campaigners, small businesses, sports clubs and schools, were recognised for their outstanding contributions to the plastic free movement.

Head judge Lucy Siegle hosted the evening, alongside the expert panel of judges which included the likes of BBC Wildlife presenter Gillian Burke, professional surfer and scientist Dr Cliff Kapono and environmental activist Ella Daish.

With thirteen award categories, all areas of the plastic free movement were honoured. The most prestigious award, named the Sir Malcolm Walker Award, was bestowed on one overall winner and the person deemed the biggest influencer on plastics, lawyer and environmentalist Afroz Shah. The winners were presented with a beautiful steam bent wooden trophy designed by local Cornish artist Tom Raffield.

Head judge Hugo Tagholm said: “As the clouds of the pandemic start to lift, it is time to celebrate these environmental heroes, champions and community leaders. They are the ones turning a problem into an opportunity to reshape the world around us for a more sustainable, brighter, greener future. Kudos to everyone playing their part, from the beach front to the boardroom. Today is your day. This decade is your decade. This is the decade of change.”

Head Judge Lucy Siegle said: “Congratulations to all our incredible winners you all do amazing work and are leading the change the world needs much more of. We are hugely optimistic about the future, thanks to you.

We would like to thank the Plastic Free Awards sponsors – Iceland Foods Charitable Foundation, Knight Frank and Finisterre. We would also like to thank Tom Raffield, Easkey Britton, and the Plastic Free Awards judges Lucy Siegle, Richard Walker, Hugo Tagholm, Gillian Burke, Lizzie Daly, Sian Sutherland, Liz Bonin, Dr Paula Owen, Dr Cliff Kapono, Ella Daish and Dan Crockett. A Special ‘Well done and Congratulations’ from the team here at Ghost Fishing UK to all the other incredible winners and all who entered.

Award Winners:

Plastic Free Venues & Events: EcoBooth

Schools Champion: Stow Primary School

Small Business Leader: Dougie John’s Hair Salon

Community Movement: SAS Port Talbot

Design & Innovation: WAES Footwear

Plastic Free Creative: Andy Hughes

Reduce & Reuse: Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust

Youth Activist: Skye Neville

Change Maker: Dr Imogen Napper

Sporting for Change: The Big Plastic Pledge

Plastic Free Hero: Plastics Rebellion

Best Plastic Campaign: Ghost Fishing UK

Sir Malcolm Walker Lifetime Achievement Award: Afroz Shah